mine · poetry

Poem: Sleep

Sleep

and deep within me somewhere I
hear a song that so very sadly, reminds me;
tells me one day my fate is to die;
but refuses to tell me how, exactly,
instead just leaves me alone here to cry.

sweet angels in heaven, I guess,
call my name, or deep in nature I will go,
when my time will come, oh yes,
and I will gladly go; with pleasure,
I’ll take my rest with sweet Goddess.

so, even if for now this life
has brought me down so low, and I
just wish to leave behind all trouble, strife,
to sleep in a day or two – oh,
how wonderful it will be finally to rest,
to lay asleep my sunken, heaving chest.

 

2 thoughts on “Poem: Sleep

Leave a Reply

