mine · poetry

Poem: Prey

Prey

There’s a story somewhere, written in those eyes.
A story worth the stars of thousand skies –
impossible to penetrate yet they penetrate my soul,
drill a hole there yet I’ve never felt this whole.
It is useless here to try now and pretend;
those your brown eyes will eventually kill me in the end.

I feel those brown eyes sneak their way upon my skin,
try not to look your way, to fight this fight within.
For if I did I know what you would do;
smile that smile for me – my heart higher than the moon.
And so I pull away, am happy to pretend;
those your brown eyes will not kill me in the end.

2 thoughts on “Poem: Prey

  1. It’s very pretty. I like this part “There’s a story somewhere, written in those eyes.
    A story worth the stars of thousand skies -“.

Leave a Reply

