books · general · me

Two plays: “Walking the Road” and “Observe the Sons of Ulster”

Uh… I feel so out of reality. I’ve been so busy with reading things and studying and writing the essays and all that I feel completely detached of anything and everything happening outside of this apartment. I mean, it’s not that I mind that much, sometimes it’s nice to get so deep into a book or something that you forget about reality, but I’ve read two plays and watched some series and continued reading Dracula, and read something related to another play, concerning some more Greek mythology (‘cos there’s never too much of that in Literature studies) and so on and so on.
Maybe I should reality-check myself with some news?
But then again…
I’m really not in the mood for knowing how many people died today.
Especially after reading two plays about war.

walkingthelineI enjoyed them, obviously, as I always enjoy war-related literature, for some reason. The other one, Walking the Road by Dermot Bolger was really something. It has only two characters, one of which is Frank, who is based on a war poet Francis Ledwidge who died by a stray shell while building a road in Flanders (so not in actual war situation, and a bit ironically, because as far as I understood he was a road worker before the war), and a ‘companion’, who seems more like a spiritual guide to help him figure out that he’s dead and cope with that.
I really liked that one.
It had a lot of quotes I had to take down, so very beautifully written.

sons of ulsterThe other one is Observe the Sons of Ulster Marching Towards the Somme, by Frank McGuinness. I liked this one too, very much, but I have a feeling it would be a lot better if it was seen, not read. So I only gave it 3 stars out of 5, I think. Has a hell of a name, though, doesn’t it. This one is about a group of 8 Irish men who enlist and are sent to Somme. Only one of them survives, Pyper,  but in the end (or in the very beginning, actually) it turns out that even the ones who survived, died in the war. The men who came back were not the same as those who went. The way the play is constructed seems very interesting, too, since even though there’s 8 guys on stage, they are most of the time arranged in pairs, but then, in some parts, the conversations are mixed so that it becomes difficult to follow, and to try to get to the meanings hidden behind the words.

So I figured I’ll do my Irish essay on these. Yay, something I can get exited about a little!

Leave a Reply

